Home News Buhari Swears In Seven New Ministers, Reshuffles Cabinet

Buhari Swears In Seven New Ministers, Reshuffles Cabinet

Image credit: Google - President Muhammadu Buhari

Following their screening and confirmation by the Nigerian Senate, President Muhammdu Buhari Wednesday swore-in 7 new Ministers and assigned portfolios.

The swearing-in took place, just before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting at the council chambers.

Those sworn in are:
Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom) is Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, he takes over from Godswill Akpabio.
Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu (Abia) is the Minister of State, Science and Technology;
Umar Ibrahim El-Yakubu (Kano) is the Minister of State, Works and Housing; Goodluck Nanah Opiah (Imo) is the Minister of State Education;
Ekumankama Joseph Nkamah (Ebonyi) is the Minister of State Health;
Odum Udi (Rivers) is Minister of State Environment; while Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo) is Minister of State, Transportation.

The Presidnet also announced a cabinet reshuffle. Olorunimbe Mamora is now the Minister of Science and Technology;
Sharon Ikeazor, Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs; Mu’azu Jaji Sambo is the Minister of Transportation. He takes over from Rotimi Amaechi.

While Gbemi Saraki is the Minister of State Mines and Steel.

In his remark, President Buhari congratulated the new ministers and urged them to give their best in the discharge of their duties.

The president reminded the new ministers of his administration’s cardinal objectives of improving the economy, fighting corruption and infastructural development.

He advised them to take wise counsels and work closely with permanent secretaries in their various ministeries.

Preceding the swearing -in, a minute silence was observed in honour of the outgoing Secretary General of OPEC Mohammed Barkindo who died on Tuesday evening, hours after meeting with the president at the state house, Abuja.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here